I frequently see people with food sensitivities to milk who ask the question, “well if I stop drinking milk, where will I get calcium?” So, let’s think about this for a minute…where does calcium in milk come from? The answer is: it is fortified into the milk. Calcium once was naturally occuring in milk when cow’s spent their days grazing pastures and eating grass. So where did the calcium come from… the grass! Now, most of our commercially produced milk has to be fortified with calcium and vitamin D because these cow’s are not in pastures getting a sun tan and eating green grass to get naturally occuring calcium and vitamin D. So, if you stop drinking milk, where will you get your calcium? Any milk substitute is also fortified with calcium and vitamin D, so you will still get your nutrients. Rice milk, almond milk, soy milk, coconut milk and even goat’s milk really do contain the same vitamins as cow’s milk, and are easier to digest.
Here are some other great non-dairy foods that are calcium rich:
- Beans (especially soybeans)
- Nuts and seeds (preferably raw)
- Greens (Turnip Green, Bok Choy, Kale, Spinach, Okra, Broccoli)
- Calcium fortified foods (juice, non-dairy milk, non-dairy cheese, non-dairy yogurt)
Vitamin D and Magnesium are very important for proper absorption of Calcium.